Why create a blog to tell you my 10 year financial freedom plan?

Hello everyone, I’m Joe!  I’d like to tell you my story in the hope that it can inspire you to change your life.  10 years ago I made the decision to move 1/2 way across the country with the hopes of opening a restaurant with my uncle – all while I was 17 years old.  I quickly learned that working with family wasn’t a good idea and found myself jobless, broke and on the verge of being homeless. After a couple years of taking whatever job I could find to pay the bills – waiting at a restaurant, plumbing, retail, working at a call center, etc. – I found myself in quite a bit of debt because my jobs weren’t paying enough to pay for ALL my bills.  When I pulled my credit and saw a scary number, roughly six months worth of income, I decided that I should join college and try something new.  This blog isn’t intended to teach you about going to school or getting a job, but this is important in my journey. It took me almost 6 years to graduate because I was working full-time and going to school full-time, so I could only take 3 or 4 classes at a time and couldn’t always take summer classes.  6 years worth of college resulted in a ton of debt…  About $50,000 worth.  By the time I graduated I was in about $75,000 in debt.  ($50,000 college loans, $15,000 car loan and $10,000 in various other debts).  That’s right, Seventy-five Thousand Dollars!

I worked hard to get a decent job after graduating – making enough money to pay my bills and have some entertainment money all while paying a little bit of debt.  After saving a little bit of cash and buying a house, I then realized I was now in $235,000 debt (including the $170,000 mortgage).  After I added up all my debt I decided to take the way I live in my own hands and to no longer rely on banks to live – I created a 10 year plan to do so.

This blog is to tell you how I do it and  I hope to inspire you all get debt free too!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

